• (230) 4278861, 4260399

IP Rights in the Pacific Ocean  

The Pacific Ocean is the world's largest ocean, which covers approximately 33% of the total Earth's surface. It consists of three major groups of islands, namely Melanesia, Micronesia, and Polynesia. The countries in the Pacific Ocean are collectively known as the 'Pacific Island Nations,' which include Australia, Fiji, Kiribati, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Samoa, Solomon Islands, Tonga, Tuvalu, and Vanuatu. Australia and New Zealand are by far the largest economies present in the region and together account for near about two-thirds of the entire population in the region.

As international trade developed, there has been an increased need for the IP owners and applicants to protect their IPRs throughout the Pacific Island Nations. So, let us now make ourselves familiar with the IP laws (covering trademarks, patents, industrial designs, and copyright) prevalent in all the previously-mentioned Pacific Island Nations.