• (230) 4278861, 4260399

IP Rights in South America 

South America is the world's fourth-largest continent in terms of size and fifth-largest in terms of population. Primarily located in the southern hemisphere, South America is bordered by the Atlantic Ocean to the east and the Pacific Ocean to the west. It consists of thirteen (13) nations, including Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, The Falkland Islands, Guyana, Paraguay, Peru, Suriname, Uruguay, and Venezuela.  

When it comes to doing business in South America where IP is involved, there a need to keep two aspects in mind - in the first place, registering IP rights before the relevant government body is essential, and in the second place, contracts need to be well-drafted in writing, and IP should be covered in them. So, let us now make ourselves familiar with the IP laws (covering trademarks, patents, industrial designs, and copyright) prevalent in all the previously-mentioned countries of South America.